By specialising in Photography at the Rietveld Academie, you will be trained as an autonomous photographer. New imaging techniques using video, film and other media will be tested according to photographic traditions. In the Photography department of the Rietveld Academie, you will create autonomous conceptual work in which photography serves as a catalyst within the working process. Once graduated you may use the title Bachelor of Art & Design (BA).

During the first phase of the programme, you will investigate the different techniques in connection with the development of your own solutions and vision. Attention will be paid to special techniques with regard to both old and new developments in photography. Your personal artistic development comes first, and during the programme you will learn to become a self-operating, innovative, conceptually thinking photographer. No single style or direction is taught within the department. What is important in the department, however, is to critique the medium in order to better understand it. In addition to the aesthetic and technical techniques available today, you will learn to think like a visual artist and to take a self-reflexive approach to the medium. Collective discussions and observations form an important part of the instruction.

Courses offered

Autonomous art photography, Visual research, Visual design, Image Manipulation, Technical skills, Workevaluations, Philosophy, Art History, Studium Generale.

Read more

May 19th: again, anew, afresh, anon & once more
Read more

CHANEL +5 images
2016-05-23 09:44:02

ATM: Working my core
2015-10-15 10:44:40
Solo show by Photography stude…

Heda +4 images
2013-06-30 12:16:48

Leonie Linotte – Fotografie 2011

Anna de Vogel – Fotografie 2016

Mirte Slaats – Fotografie 2009

Study Structure

first specialisation year

During the first specialisation year, you and your classmates and lecturers will draw up a canon – a set of rules that you believe in and will use as a guide. This is the beginning of the artist’s statement which you will develop in more detail later on in the programme. Students will work freely, and not on the basis of assignments, although certain frameworks will be defined. In addition to group discussions, there will be room for individual supervision.

second specialisation year

On the basis of the canon adopted during the first year, you will choose positions and further develop them. You will be expected to be able to take an independent, relevant position as a visual artist by this time. The lessons will continue to have a critical character with regard to the student’s own medium. In addition to photography, it is important to study other contemporary trends in art. The surrounding programme will include visits to lectures, exhibitions and symposiums that have nothing to do with photography. This will help you broaden your world view.

third specialisation year

During the third specialisation year, you will work towards the final examination and complete your artist’s statement in the form of a thesis.


The Photography department presents itself within and outside the Academy through numerous projects.


In the Photography department, you will receive theoretical instruction in media history, photography theory, art theory, art history and media theory. The Studium Generale is also a standard part of the theory education in the Photography department. The Studium Generale provides a general historical context concerning current themes in the contemporary international art world. The Studium Generale brings in prominent speakers from the Netherlands and abroad to give lectures. For more information, see Studium Generale

Students 1st year

Anna Lenartowska
Enrico Garzaro
Maxi Pfeil
Olaf Roukens
Qianyun Zhang
Sophie Wurnig
Tobias Groot
Yusuf Zucchero
Zara Glaser

Students 2nd year

Alexandre Basso
Andreas Vempos
Anna Aksionava
Annabel van Roijen
Anne Lakeman
Geray Mena Santana
Ketevan Ortoidze
Marco Kamber
Nelle Shwan
Olga Permiakova
Olivia Vidal
Patrycja Rozwora
Pauline Bauvin
Theresa Büchner

Students 3rd year

Marlies Merkelbach
Mathias Plougsgård
Nikola Lamburov
Rosa Smalen
Tim Cullmann
Tiziana Krüger
Vytautas Kumža